Eight of the world's top 13 men's players confirmed for the Aegon Championships

11th June 2015

The official entry list has today revealed that eight of the world’s Top 13 players will compete for the Aegon Championships trophy at The Queen’s Club, 15th-21st June. It is one of the strongest entries in the tournament’s history.

The eight are No.3 Andy Murray, No.4 Rafael Nadal, No.6 Milos Raonic, No. 9 Stan Wawrinka, No.10 Marin Cilic, No.11 and defending champion Grigor Dimitrov, No.12 Feliciano Lopez and No.13 Gilles Simon.

They are joined by big-serving American John Isner, who is playing the tournament for the first time since 2008, 20-year-old starlet Nick Kyrgios, who is making his debut, and 2007 Wimbledon semifinalist Richard Gasquet.

Four-time winner Lleyton Hewitt has been guaranteed a wild card for his 16th and last appearance before retiring from the sport after next year’s Australian Open.

There are five Grand Slam champions (Murray, Nadal, Cilic, Wawrinka, and Hewitt), including three Wimbledon singles champions, in the draw. All of the Wimbledon winners played the Aegon Championships prior to their titles at the All England Club. Hewitt (2002), Nadal (2008) and Murray (2013) have all done the Queen’s-Wimbledon double.

The last direct acceptance into the Aegon Championships is Pablo Andujar, ranked No.43.

“To see such a strong, confirmed entry for the Aegon Championships is a huge thrill for everyone involved in the tournament, and fantastic news for our ticket-holders,” said Tournament Director, Stephen Farrow. “The Aegon Championships is an ATP World Tour 500 event for the first time this year, and we are determined to exceed the standards we set in being voted ATP World Tour 250 tournament of the year by the players the past two years.”

David Macmillan, Chief Marketing Officer at Aegon, said: “We are delighted to see so many of the world’s best players on the official entry list for the Aegon Championships, and with grass courts and organisation to match we know that it is going to be a spectacular event.”

The upgrading of the Aegon Championships to ATP-500 in 2015 means that there will be an additional $1 million of prize money. With The Championships, Wimbledon moving back a week in the calendar to expand the grass court season, there is also an extra week between the French Open and the start of the Aegon Championships. The singles draw has been reduced from 56 to 32 to ensure that the top seeds will all play singles on either Monday or Tuesday.

« Back to News